jump to navigation

#3. Just the two of US 05/04/2008

Posted by Mrs. W. in General.
trackback

Yes! I made it 🙂
LO number 3 is finished! I really love this photo of my brother and his girlfriend.
I know I have to start and scrap photos about the wedding!!! I KNOW!!!! Hope that the next LO, will be with photos of December 21st!
I’m not totally happy with the result, but ok ok I made it……..
Just the two of us

<2 minutes of silence>
Wondering why? In the Netherlands on May 4 we held the Remembrance of the Ded. It commemorates all civilians and members of the armed forces of the Kingdom of the Netherlands who have dies in wars or peacekeeping missions since the outbreak of World War II.
Until 1961, the commemoration only related to the Dutch victims of World War II. Since 1961, the victims of other military conflicts (such as the Indonesian National Revolution in Indonesia) and peacekeeping missions (such as in Lebanon or Bosnia) are remembered on May 4 as well.

Traditionally, the main ceremonies are observed in Amsterdamat the national monument on Dam Square. This ceremony is usually attended by members of the cabinet and the royal family, military leaders, representatives of the resistance movement and other social groups. At 8:00 p.m., two minutes of silence are observed throughout the Netherlands. Since May 4 1994, the flags, having hung at half-staff during the day, are then hoisted to the sounds of the Wilhelmus, the Dutch national anthem. Since 2001 the new protocol says it’s okay to let the flag hang half-staff.

Although the main celebrations get the most attention from the media, there are ceremonies in other cities and places as well, such as the Waalsdorpervlakte near the Hague where many Dutch resistance fighters were executed during the war. In many towns, before or after the two minutes of silence, people gather around a monument, listen to speeches, and lay down flowers to remember the dead.

Tomorrow, on May 5, we (Dutch people) celebrate the liberation from the German occupation between 1940 and 1945.

I think it’s good to remember this! At school we learned a lot about the war and what happend. And I hope that this part of the Dutch history is still a part of the history classes these days.
Two years ago I was in our back garden with some friends at 8 p.m. and the children of the neighbours where just screaming and jelling at eachother. I thought I was exploding! Damn that really made me angry. But maybe it’s their parents mistake. My parents told me about the war and what these two minutes of silence mean. I hope to teach my children the same in the future.

Well, back to happier things! Back to my scrapdesk or at least to the giant heap of photos that are staring at me there. Do you recognize it? “please scrap me please scrap me, I want to be on a page in you album!!!!! PLEASE”

Well I hope you had a great weekend! I had!!!
Tomorrow back to work again after 5 days off 🙂

Hugs,
Mar

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

